What Makes My Husband The Best Dad

As mothers, we cannot help but boast about our little ones and how amazing they are… today I want to boast about my husband. I couldn’t have picked a better dad for our little girl if I tried.

Dads seem to get a bad rap in the media, they are often portrayed as the bread-winner who doesn’t know which end of a baby to diaper, much less how to braid hair, cook dinner and clean! My husband definitely cleans more than me (keeper!) and probably cooks better than me too (okay, probably not – my cooking is amazing). Most importantly, he always makes time for his family.

I know I am very lucky, I also understand that everyone’s circumstances are different – and sometimes dad’s have to work extremely hard and late hours – the same goes for moms. Some have more high pressure jobs, some have a lot of stress to deal with… I am not judging, I am just trying to show some appreciation as Dad’s are often overlooked and Mommy gets all the shine.

What Makes My Husband The Best Dad Dad and Baby Sleeping

What Makes My Husband The Best Dad Dad Sleeping In Pink Girls Bed

I married Cole for a number of reasons, he is the funniest person I have ever met in my entire life, he is patient, tolerant, he is fun, exciting, he is loving and caring, he is a real man’s man, can fix anything and everything, he is my best friend… he is amazing. I have always been head over heels in love with him even through our rough patches, but nothing could prepare me for the love I have for him after watching him become a dad to our beautiful daughter.

What Makes My Husband The Best Dad Dad holding newborn baby in hospital

Mikayla, born 6 January 2011, and her very proud daddy

Reasons Why My Husband Is The Best Dad:

1. He is a great husband, great husbands become great dads.

What Makes My Husband The Best Dad Holding Hands

2. He makes an effort to be part of Mikayla’s life – school, doctor’s visits, birthdays, school plays –  he is always there.

3. When Mikayla was a newborn baby, he used to take over one middle-of-the-night feeding so that I could get an extra hour of sleep – and it was his idea.

What Makes My Husband The Best Dad Baby Holding Dads Finger Newborn

4. He is my equal partner –  From day one he has had an equal part in changing nappies, bathime, feedings, etc. and he never complained.

What Makes My Husband The Best Dad

5. He is affectionate – He hugs and kisses Mikayla every single day and tells her how beautiful, smart and funny she is and how proud he is of her.

What Makes My Husband The Best Dad Dad lifting daughter into the sky ocean

6. He is Kind

What Makes My Husband The Best Dad Dad with cat and daughter

7. He is a source of comfort

What Makes My Husband The Best Dad Dad Holding his Little Girl

8. He keeps her safe and catches her when she falls

What Makes My Husband The Best Dad Dad Teaching Girl How To Skateboard

9. He makes us laugh… so much. He really is the funniest person I know

10. He is a real MacGyver. He can fix and build anything, and he lets Mikayla help and learn from him

What Makes My Husband The Best Dad Dad working on his Valiant Regal Vintage Car with The cat

11. He has tea parties with Mikayla and her “friends”. He pretends to drive her around in a “chariot” and treats her like a princess.

What Makes My Husband The Best Dad Going Through The Airport

12. He paints her nails, and lets her paint his

13. He gets her ready for school every morning and ties up her hair (even though I lay out the outfit the night before and his version of a ponytail involves using the vacuum cleaner)

14. He lets her colour in his tattoos

15. He is fun and adventurous

What Makes My Husband The Best Dad Fishing

16. He is her Hero.. she looks up to him, she adores him.

What Makes My Husband The Best Dad Forest Walks

17. He is my daughters first love – and a great example of the kind of man I would like her to marry one day

What Makes My Husband The Best Dad Kisses

18. He takes her on dates

What Makes My Husband The Best Dad

Thank you for being an amazing dad, my love. I can’t wait for our son to arrive – I hope he will be just like you when he grows up ♥

7 thoughts on “What Makes My Husband The Best Dad

  1. Pingback: 130 Things I Want To Teach My ChIldren Before They Are Grown-up / Incase I Die Young | Caffeine and Fairydust

  2. Pingback: Mikayla’s Tonsilectomy And Adenoidectomy – What To Expect | Caffeine and Fairydust

  3. Pingback: Cole & Simon’s Amazing Upcycled Oregon Pine Bookshelves | Caffeine and Fairydust

  4. Pingback: Welcome! | Caffeine and Fairydust

Don't be shy! Leave a comment...

