It’s A Boy! What Do You Do With Them?

From the day Cole and I decided we wanted to try for our second child, I have wanted a boy. I even used the Chinese Gender Predictor Calender (don’t judge me, it worked). Don’t get me wrong, It’s definitely not that I would have been disappointed if it were to be a girl – in the end we all just want a healthy little baby.

A boy…I could just imagine all the cute outfits I was going to dress him in, how he was going to be a mommy’s boy and how cute and cuddly and handsome he was going to be!

When we went to our first appointment at the Fetal Assesment Center in Cape Town, they confirmed that we were indeed expecting a boy, we were over the moon! I nearly jumped off the bed with excitement, but my thoughts quickly went from absolute excitement to… oh shit. Not even the proud look on my husband’s face could eliminate the fear I felt building up in my deepest heart of hearts.

I do not have any experiences with little boys.. I have 3 sisters and pretty much only female cousins. I also have absolutely no experience with changing little boy’s diapers, but all the stories I hear involve some sort of pee malfunction. ALWAYS. Usually in the facial region. I don’t handle streaming pee in my face with calmness and grace. And my mascara is very expensive. I am the mom of a 3-year-old girl and, for as much drama and tears and whining we endure on a daily basis, she makes perfect sense to me. She loves princesses, pink frosting on cupcakes, dressing up in my jewellery, wearing my high heels, ponies, sparkles, and wearing tiaras when we go grocery shopping, and so do I. That is normal to me.. Boys eat mud.

5123797314_519c2c8291_z

Every time I see little boys in the park they are usually trying to eat rocks, smear mud on one another, or kill each other with sticks. On the few occasions that I have seen little boys inside a house, they’re jumping on couches, falling through glass tables, breaking windows or laughing at their farts. We go to the forest to look for fairies, boys go to the forest to catch bugs.. We like wearing tutu’s and doing ballet, boys like monster trucks and wrestling. What if the arrival of a boy this New Year disturbs our Frozen reciting, Disney Princess, sparkly, colourful world??

146124430

Okay… honest truth… at the heart of my fear is that I won’t be a good mom to a boy. What if I don’t know what kinds of toys he wants to play with? What if I baby him too much? What if I don’t raise him to be tough enough?

More than anything, I want to be a good mom. The unknown is terrifying! All that said, I am already so in love with this little man doing karate kicks in my tummy – I cannot wait to meet him.

If you are a mom of a boy, what do I need to know? What is the best thing about having a boy? What are your top tips?

3 thoughts on “It’s A Boy! What Do You Do With Them?

  1. Pingback: Babe Bee – Innovative Practical Kids Products + {GIVEAWAY) | Caffeine and Fairydust

  2. I’ve seen so many parents who are all about gender fluidity, and just letting your child be without imposing pink dresses and dolls on girls, and not imposing trucks and balls on boys. But one thing I’ve learnt is: boys will be boys. My son continually fascinates me with his intrinsically boyish ways, because it’s what he’s naturally drawn to. And it’s nothing I’ve taught him. Trust me, with Cole around, your little guy will let you know what he wants. All I know is, if it’s a ball or has wheels, you can’t go wrong. I have golf balls, soccer balls, rugby balls, Waboba balls, beach balls ALL over my house. You can never have too many. And then there you get the toy trucks, cars, motorbikes and trains. (At two and a half, he’s only recently showed an interest in cars. But balls have been a big deal for ages now). Anyway. despite all of this, he still likes to wear my bras and paint his nails when I paint mine….

    Like

  3. Pingback: 01/10/2011 Our Wedding Day… 3 Years Down, Forever To Go | Caffeine and Fairydust

Don't be shy! Leave a comment...

