Baby Bump Update – 31 Weeks. Let The Countdown Begin…

Baby Bump Update - 31 Weeks. Let The Countdown Begin...

So, I am now well into my third trimester…not sure when exactly this happened – has it not only been like five days? When I give birth tomorrow or something maybe I will figure out where Winter has gone and when my daughter turned into a little toddler. I digress.

I went for my check up this morning and he is just perfect – seeing him and hearing his heartbeat completely made up for the fact that I almost vomited on everyone and passed out on the doctor’s exam table. It was also very special as I had Cole, my mom and my dad with me. My parents live 830 km’s away so they always miss out, but today they got to see their first grandson (even if it is just on a screen). We also set a date for the Cesarean, I should really get my butt in gear and start tying up all the loose ends! I am way too relaxed about everything this time around…

How far along? 31 Weeks

Total weight gain: 15 kg’s

Maternity clothes: Not quite there yet – I bought my first maternity dress, but I am still fitting into my loose stretchy clothes. Finding trendy maternity wear is exhausting, and changing rooms in clothing stores are just too depressing for me to handle right now!

Stretch marks: I have 3 new ones to add to my collection of love notes… can’t say I didn’t see that coming

Sleep: There is no such thing. It’s not all pregnancy related though. Mikayla was quite ill after having her tonsils and adenoids taken out which resulted in about two weeks of sleep deprivation, I am working quite hard at the moment and there just is not enough time in the day… Also, I am getting more and more uncomfortable and little Knox is the most active at night (Uh-oh). I know I need to slow down and relax, and I will eventually.

Best moment this week: Finding out that our baby boy will be delivered on the 19th of December… It makes it so real and final. I just can’t wait! 7 weeks to go…

Miss anything? I really miss sleeping on my tummy… you know, that drooling from the mouth, face squashing, comatose tummy nap? It’s the best.

Movement: He is so active at the moment, he is only ever really still in the mornings lately. It also now seems to be a little game to kick my stomach while I’m eating and to poke his little toes into my ribcage. He is currently in the breach position, but doctor said not to worry.

Food cravings: Still the same – pineapple, spinach, nectarines… I am LOVING plain yoghurt and Yogi-Sips at the moment.

Anything making you queasy or sick? The smell of Biltong and Ostrich mince.

Gender: Still a boy (phew!)

Labour signs: Not really, a couple of Braxton Hicks here and there.

Symptoms: The absolute worst is muscle and leg cramps. I get them in my legs, hands and toes – definitely not the most pleasant thing in the world (especially at 2am in the morning). My back is also starting to take some strain and my feet get quite swollen at the end of my work day. Let’s not forget the fact that I have to go pee every 5 minutes.

Belly button in or out? Still in, I doubt it will ever pop out.

Wedding rings on or off? On, but the day is fast approaching…

Happy or moody most of the time: 50/50 – I only get moody because I am really tired.

Looking forward to: Maternity leave in 4 weeks time! I will get two weeks to myself and to spend some quality time with Mikayla before baby arrives.

3 thoughts on “Baby Bump Update – 31 Weeks. Let The Countdown Begin…

  1. Pingback: Baby Life – Online Shopping For Baby, My Wishlist… | Caffeine and Fairydust

  2. So funny! At least I’m not alone. The one thing I have found is the Betty Basics range – I bought a couple of the longer length vests and I am wearing them with leggings. You can the just dress them up with Kimono’s (all the rage right now). It’s not maternity, but it is super comfy and you can wear it afterwards as well. I am going to make it my mission to find some nice maternity clothes to blog about!
    Good luck for you too, and good luck with the move! So exciting!

    xox
    Maz

    Like

  3. We are sooo in the same boat. My C-section date is 16th of Dec and my boy is also a toddler…also expecting a(nother) boy. So feel you on the maternity clothes. I have NO summer clothes that even remotely fits, but I can’t find anything in the stores that is nice and fitting is the most depressing thing ever. So not quite sure what I’m going to wear this summer!!
    I know what you mean about being relaxed….I haven’t done anything! Bought 1 babygrow out of guilt the other day….but we are moving about a week before due date…so will then pack out and see what I need..cutting it close hey!!??? Or maybe I just decided to make it my husbands problem while I’m in hospital?
    Good luck with the last couple of weeks! And only this morning I was asking my husband if we can cut a whole in the bed for my tummy because flipping hell I miss sleeping on my tummy.
    Love your blog!!

    Like

Don't be shy! Leave a comment...

