Baby Bump Update – 34 Weeks. Exactly 4 Weeks To Go…

I can’t believe it, exactly one month from now I will be holding my little baby boy in my arms! Excited does not begin to describe how I am feeling.

I will admit, I had a brief moment of blind panic on Saturday… We went to a kiddies birthday party and there were two pretty much newborn babies there. Shit got real…real fast. I was too scared to hold them, they were so tiny and breakable! I can’t imagine that Mikayla was ever that small… although she was probably even smaller.

It has been a rough couple of weeks – tummy bug, issues at the office, two scary trips to the hospital, sleep deprivation… you name it. I went for a check-up and baby is just fine – he is weighing about 2.2 kg’s and I feel like a terrible mom as I cannot make out heads or tails from his ultrasound image. I just nodded and smiled.

Baby Bump Update - 34 Weeks. Exactly 4 Weeks To Go...

How far along? 34 Weeks and a couple of days

Total weight gain: Still at 15 kg’s (probably due to the tummy bug). I do feel a lot bigger though – I have so much swelling in my legs and feet, my face is rounder and my arms are definitely bigger too.

Maternity clothes: Today I am actually wearing the first maternity dress I bought, and it fits properly. Bitter sweet moment for me.

Stretch marks: Still only those three I mentioned last time!

Sleep: No rest for the wicked, the last stretch is always the worst… I remember with Mikayla I had more sleep when she was born than when I did when I was pregnant with her. I am constantly tired though – working full time and not getting enough rest is taking its toll. Besides waking up every 20 minutes to go pee, I am also now at that stage where I have to wake up to change sides! It is like trying to move a mountain…

Best moment this week: Finishing all my Christmas shopping and realizing that this Christmas our family will be bigger. Also, everything is ready for Knox’s arrival which puts my mind at ease ♥ The absolute best was when Mikayla came and put her head on my tummy out of her own to feel her baby ‘bruver’ move.

Miss anything? I miss the feeling of not having heartburn. And I really, really miss my Champagne and sushi.

Movement: We had a bit of a scare earlier in the week where there was no movement for about six hours, we rushed to the hospital where they monitored his heartbeat and it turned out he was just having a lazy day. I have noticed a change in the pattern of his movements. They are definitely not has frequent anymore. He is having loads of hiccups, poor baby! My tummy is also making the strangest shapes and little Knox seems to be favouring the right side.

Food cravings: I don’t have much of an appetite lately, but loving some Milo in the evenings. I want sushi so badly!

Anything making you queasy or sick? Still ostrich mince, and I can’t handle coffee anymore (decaf obviously)

Gender: Still a boy (phew!)

Labour signs: I have been experiencing some abdominal pain and some very painful Braxton Hicks, but nothing serious. All part of the process.

Symptoms: I had a nasty tummy bug about 2/3 weeks ago and my body has just not been able to fully recover. I am still suffering from the leg and toe cramps. I feel very drained and sore… I have joint pain in my hands, wrists and elbows which is from extreme fatigue. I also had a bad reaction to the Ferofol tablets I started taking to relieve the cramps and low blood pressure – it made my hands burn and I got a terrible bitter taste in my mouth that made me very ill. Luckily this is gradually disappearing! Heartburn is from the devil, my feet and hands are swollen and I have water retention in my legs. I know, I sound crazy.

Belly button in or out? Still in, but sjeeesh…just.

Wedding rings on or off? Off… I think I took it off just in time! It feels so strange to not wear one after so long.

Happy or moody most of the time:I am being a bit of an hormonal bitch. I’ll admit it.

Looking forward to: Maternity leave… I do not exactly work in the most caring, nurturing and happy environment. I think that is adding a great deal to the physical and mental exhaustion I’ve been experiencing.

Baby Bump Update - 34 Weeks. Exactly 4 Weeks To Go...

4 thoughts on “Baby Bump Update – 34 Weeks. Exactly 4 Weeks To Go…

  1. You’re not the only one!!! “I’ve done this before” – this is my Mantra – however, it TERRIFIES me that I am going to be doing it again in 2 weeks time! Everyone is excited (myself included), although sometimes I have to calm myself down, because I know I freak out about the whole process again! I think maybe it is the “knowing what to expect” from child-birth this time around? Scary as hell!!! The last time I just went with the flow and did what needed to be done – because I was so new at this that I did not even realize I was in labour until my son was almost there! Now I find myself thinking – “It’s time” – every time that I have some minor feeling of discomfort!

    Like

Don't be shy! Leave a comment...

