Baby Bump Update – 36 weeks + Birth!

Baby Bump Update - 36 weeks + Birth! So we’ve reached 36 weeks!!! Amazing how time is flying. Everything was ready, we were all just waiting… We even had the Christmas tree and all the presents sorted out! Coincidently, I also finished all of my UIF paperwork the day before and had a lunch date with Mikayla earlier in the day (this was something I was planning to do the day before my scheduled c-section and was very important to me). Knox must have sensed this as on 4 December 2015 at 7:30pm my contractions started and I went into labour…

It started feeling like Braxton Hicks, I have been experiencing quite a lot of these in my third trimester, but something was different. The contractions seemed to start in my lower back and pulled its way around my tummy like a belt – it wasn’t painful though so I did not worry too much. They became more and more frequent, and they didn’t go away… I usually get about four big semi-painful Braxton Hicks and then they disappear – not this time. I counted eight contractions in 40 minutes spaced roughly 3 minutes apart and lasting for about a minute each. These were too consistent so I phoned the Maternity Ward at Kingsbury Hospital. The sister on call advised me that it was a little strange that they weren’t very painful, and to take a shower, drink loads of water and lie on my side for about an hour – if they didn’t disappear before then I was to come in for a check-up. I did the above mentioned, but waited an extra hour – I felt so embarrassed – I didn’t want to go in and then it was nothing! (I’ve already been to the Maternity Ward twice before – false alarms). At 10:00pm the contractions where about 1:30 minutes apart lasting 40 seconds each and they were getting painful, very, very painful…. There was no denying it – it was time! We dropped Mikayla off at the in-laws and made our way through to the hospital where I was placed on a fetal heartbeat and contraction monitor.

Baby Bump Update - 36 weeks + Birth!

Baby Bump Update - 36 weeks + Birth!
The sister confirmed that I was indeed in labour, I was admitted for the night and Dr. Jansen (a.k.a Rockstar Gynea) was notified. She was concerned about delivering the baby at exactly 36 weeks – she was worried that his lungs would not be fully mature enough. She had the sister give me a Morphine injection in a bid to try stop the labour – it didn’t work – it did not even take the pain away enough for me to be able to sleep. I was also given a steroid injection to help mature his lungs just in case.
The contractions remained frequent and intense. I was about 1cm dilated and my cervix was paper thin. By 8:00am the next morning Dr. Jansen came around and had me placed on a drip as a second attempt to stop labour – once again it did not work and after about 15 hours of labour in total, I was rolled into theatre and they performed a c-section.

Baby Bump Update - 36 weeks + Birth!
Cole was absolutely amazing through all of this… He is the best husband a girl could ever ask for. He held my hand, kissed me, distracted me through every injection (I have a huge fear of needles), he was just amazing. Another very special, amazing part was that Cole’s oldest and dearest friends’ wife, Manna, came in to assist Dr. Jansen in delivering our baby. This is seriously the nicest, sweetest person you will ever meet – it was so great having her there, she really made me feel relaxed and put my mind at ease. It was very special.

Knox was born at 10:30am on 5 December 2014 and when he gave his first cry… It was the most beautiful sound I have ever heard in my life. He weighs 2.97kg and is 50cm tall – not bad for being four weeks early. I got to hold him for less than a minute as he was having trouble breathing – as predicted.

Baby Bump Update - 36 weeks + Birth! He had some fluid on his lungs so they let us take a quick family photo before taking him through to the NICU unit – Cole went with and followed him the entire day to put my mind at ease!

Baby Bump Update - 36 weeks + Birth!
I have been in bed all day recovering from the c-section and getting feeling back in to my legs after the epidural, I will only be able to see my little boy again tomorrow after all my tubes, drips, etc. have been removed and I’m allowed to walk around. I cannot describe how heartbreaking it is not to be able to hold him.. Not to be able to see him is just… I don’t know, it is killing me. Cole kept bringing me photos and videos of him so that helped a little bit.

Baby Bump Update - 36 weeks + Birth!

so…
How far along? 36 weeks 0 days

Total weight gain:  18kg’s, but I look massive as I am really struggling with water retention.

Maternity clothes:  as Murphy’s law would have it, I just bought the raddest pair of maternity jeans and the nicest grey wrap maternity top! At least I got to wear it once.

Stretch marks: Those three extras mentioned before turned into four. – little darker in colour and a little longer in length, honostly I was expecting a lot worse. I really love the Oh So Heavenly Supertight Stretchmark Creme for Mum, I really believe it saved me.

Sleep: the past week I have actually gotten a good amount of sleep, however I just did not feel well rested (read my post on being damn tired here!). Of course I spent the whole of last night awake from the contractions. I slept on and off today… Gorgeous, Morphine filled dozy, dreamy naps… Absolutely amazing. I am writing this at 2am because I am too excited to see Knox a little later so I need to distract myself!

Best moment this week: Realizing that I was finally going to meet my little boy!

Miss anything? I miss my mom… So so so much. I wish I could teleport her here!

Movement:  he moved so much throughout the contractions. My tummy made the oddest shapes!

Food cravings:  fruity ice lollies, Oros with ice, iced water, chocolate, mangoes, nectarines and cherries!

Anything making you queasy or sick? My tummy has been super sensitive – everything seems to irritate it.

Gender:  A gorgeous, perfect, strong, beautiful boy.

Labour signs: Actual labour.

Symptoms: Acid reflux, heartburn, swollen hands and feet (not too bad). Labour.

Belly button in or out? Still in! Yay!

Wedding rings on or off? Off. I cannot wait to put it back on.

Happy or moody most of the time: very happy!

Looking forward to:  holding my little prince in my arms, and having Mikayla be able to meet him!

How I am feeling now – I’m a little worried about my baba, but at the same time I am at ease as I know he is in great hands. I feel excited to see him! I am a bit worried about him bonding with me as I haven’t been able to hold him, and won’t be able to do so until he comes off oxygen. I am a tad worried about my milk supply/stimulation as today we hand expressed to feed him and tomorrow I need to use the pump. I feel strangely empty… I miss my baby bump. I feel unbelievably greatful – I have the most amazing team of doctors, most amazing parents and in-laws, most amazing sisters and the most amazing husband anyone could ever ask for.
Thank you everyone for your love and support!

If you are looking for an excellent gynea or hospital to give birth at in the Southern Suburbs, Cape Town – I strongly recommend Dr. Lynette Jansen-Olarogun. She is such a rockstar and so unbelievably accommodating and nice!
Location: Kingsbury Hospital, Fairfield Suites, Claremont
For Appointments: +27216830370
She also works from Kingsbury, which in my opinion, is the best hospital you can ever dream to give birth at!
Dr. Manasri Naiker (whom I refer to as Manna in the article) is also an unbelievably wonderful Obstetrician and Gynecologist who recently started at Kingsbury Hospital. I would definately recommend her services as well – such a beautiful soul and wonderful at her job.
Location: Room 301, Library Square Building, Wilderness Road, Claremont
Appointments: 021 671 1738

20 thoughts on “Baby Bump Update – 36 weeks + Birth!

  1. Pingback: Being A Mom With Tattoos – It Does Not Make Me A Bad Parent | Caffeine and Fairydust

  2. Pingback: Today I Took My Daughter On A Cinderella Date… And We Learned Some Valuable Lessons! | Caffeine and Fairydust

  3. Pingback: The Significance Of It All… One Day My Baby Will Be A Man. | Caffeine and Fairydust

  4. Hi
    I just read this post and my son was born full term but also had fluid in his lungs followed by a collapsed lung when he was 2 days old. So many people kept saying to me “you must be so scared” but at the time I wasn’t really. I knew he was tough and his paed was absolutely amazing and never made us feel scared. Even when describing the chest drain procedure! Having an amazing medical team really helps especially when as a Mom there was nothing I could do, not even hold him until he was 4 days old 😦

    Also your kids are just gorgeous! 🙂

    Xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: My Boobs Are My Business… | Caffeine and Fairydust

  6. Pingback: Knox Hunter Vader Halliday – An Update (Day 3) | Caffeine and Fairydust

  7. Pingback: {Review} NooNoo Pie Tie… Snug And Free, The Natural And Flexible Baby Carrier {+ GIVEAWAY} | Caffeine and Fairydust

  8. Congratulations ❤️ Don’t worry for a moment about bonding honey; as Flea pointed out – remember your post; BUT I have a feeling you and he will recognize each other immediately. Sending all the love to you, Cole, Mikayla & little Knox xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Congratulations Maz, Cole and Mikayla (finally a big sister!!)
    Well done on ‘surviving’ 15 hours of labour!
    It must be so unbelievably tough (and even that is an understatement) to not have him him your arms, but don’t worry for one second about bonding (remember your post about bonding! 😉) you will do fine! When you get to hold him you will both feel the love that you are meant to feel ! Welcome to this magical world Knox! Enjoy him guys! He is gorgeous x

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Congratulations! So happy your babe is here and okay! Sorry that he came early but I guess it was his time! I did a post recently on my friend’s Cath prem baby – she has some good advice on pumping. Just want to send you a lot of encouragement and love! But congrats girl!

    Liked by 1 person

Don't be shy! Leave a comment...

