Knox Hunter Vader Halliday – An Update (Day 3)

So as you know by now, our little boy was born on 5 December 2014 at 10:30am and four weeks early (36weeks exactly).

I was in labour for about 15 hours during which my doctor tried to stop the contractions, but unfortunately all attempts were unsuccessful and we had to go ahead with the Caesarian.

Despite my doctor’s best efforts (steroid shots, etc), Knox’s lungs were very immature and he had a lot of fluid on them – he has been in the NICU at Kingsbury Hospital on oxygen since he left the theatre to help his lungs reach full capacity, they put him on antibiotics to eliminate any risk of infection due to the fluid on his lungs and he was placed on a feeding tube.

He is visibly getting better and stronger every day which is wonderful to see! They have just turned the oxygen down to 21% three hours ago – this is what it should be so if he stays stable the oxygen tubes can come off!! This will be amazing, because that will mean that I will finally get to hold him. I can’t wait to touch him and hold him close to my chest… I can’t help but feel that I will be able to fix everything if I could just hold him close and feel his skin against mine.
All the pediatricians, nurses and sisters have been so amazing – I don’t know how I will ever be able to thank them or show my appreciation. Today Dr. Hedi van der Watt, my favourite pediatrician in the whole world, is on call and I can’t wait to hear what she has to say about little Knox. She is my daughter’s pediatrician and to me the woman walks on water. I trust her, she helped us so much with Mikayla, if anyone can get Knox better it will be her.

I am being discharged today, I am not sure how I feel about leaving Knox behind… What am I even saying, I am devastated and petrified. I know he is in good hands, but it helps knowing he is just in the other room. I will still spend as much time as I can at the hospital, but I just want to take him home with me. At the same time, I can’t wait to be at home, surrounded by my own things, eating my own food, have Mikayla around, to fall asleep and wake up next to my husband and to shower in my own bathroom.

Knox is three days old, I have only held him once, I have only kissed him twice, I have not changed one nappy and I have only been able to feed him through a tube.

This is not the way it was supposed to be.

As heartbreaking and unexpected as all this has been, I am grateful for the fact that he has a healthy weight, I am grateful that he is improving and I am grateful for all the staff at Kingsbury Hospital trying to make this as easy as possible for us. My heart goes out to some of the preemie babies in the ward and their moms… Some of them have a very long road ahead of them.

So that is my update. Are you or have you been in a similar situation? I would love to hear your story and would appreciate any tips/advice!

Knox Hunter Vader Halliday - An Update (Day 3)

21 thoughts on “Knox Hunter Vader Halliday – An Update (Day 3)

  1. Pingback: My Boobs Are My Business… | Caffeine and Fairydust

  2. Pingback: {Review} NooNoo Pie Tie… Snug And Free, The Natural And Flexible Baby Carrier {+ GIVEAWAY} | Caffeine and Fairydust

  3. Sending all the love. I’m so sorry you are having to go through this! I can’t even begin to imagine how you are feeling right now. My wish for you all is that dr vdw will work her magic and K will be in your arms and in your home by week end. Xxx

    Like

  4. Thanks for sharing your story. I can only imagine what you are going through…my little one was also early but luckily ok. They told me on discharge morning that she would need to stay behind as she had jaundiced…..I instantly became a ball of tears….the ugly kind….luckily after tests we could take her with us. So I am sending strength and love to you and little Knox! He looks like a strong little man. Congratulations!!!

    Like

  5. Not sure why I keep posting and comments don’t come through: just wanted to send you hugs…aidan was born under same conditions, was in nicu for same reason and it sucked but looking at my busy boy now I have all the confidence that knox will be home with his family in no time ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  6. Not sure y my comment not showing…Our birth stories are practically identical and though aidan was born with same issue he is doing great now and the same will be said about knox in no time ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  7. Awh hunny, I hope that you’ll be able to hold him soon. Unfortunately, not everything goes as planned. My husband was born at 7 months and despite the doctors doubting every bit of him making it – he pulled through. Medicine has improved greatly and before you know it… This will be a thing of the past, and you’ll be layering the kisses. A blog that you’ll easily relate to is Tolouse and Tonic, she goes through a very similar situation with regards to a preemie, feeding tubes and all… Sending you love and thoughts!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Our birth stories sound identical, Aidan had exact same issues, his chest is still iffy but he couldn’t be busier and happier if he tried…Knox is going to be happy and healthy in no time ๐Ÿ™‚ The hospital let me stay there so I could feed him, but you don’t have that option with another baby at home… just know that there is nowhere but up from here , looking forward to your post:) … here’s my “birth” story http://justellabella.blogspot.com/2013/04/catching-rainbow.html

    Like

  9. I hope your little Knox is doing so much better now and that you got to give him big cuddles. I can’t even imagine what you’re going through, not being able to hold him must be torture! xoxoxo

    Liked by 1 person

  10. All the best – I am sure he will do very well. My twins were born at 37 weeks – big and healthy and good lungs but all along we were expecting to have the NICU thing and luckily it never happened. All I can tell you is that he will be fine – they do amazing work there. Huge congratulations

    Liked by 1 person

Don't be shy! Leave a comment...

