I’m Still Here…

Hi Everyone! Remember me?

I know I have been quiet as a mouse, but following the birth of my baby boy and his stay in NICU I have just been completely focused on my family.

First of all I would like to thank all of you for your kind words of encouragement, support, love and patience. It really helped so much to get me through a difficult time – I can never express enough gratitude.

Knox is finally at home with us and we are all completely in love with him! It was so odd when they finally took all of his big tubes off – he didn’t look anything like I thought he did once the swelling went down and we could see his face properly, I also saw his hair for the first time as they could finally take the cap off that held all the tubes in place… so odd that I only really saw my son properly about 5 days after he was born.

I'm Still Here...

From this…

I'm Still Here...

To this…

I'm Still Here...

After they let me hold him for the first time he improved so much that they let me try nurse him the next day, from there on the recovery has been unbelievable… all he needed was a loving touch, something we were not allowed to do at all for the first couple of days as he might not have been able to handle the stimulation.

I'm Still Here...

Holding him for the first time, my heart have never felt so complete.

I'm Still Here...

Mikayla is handling having a baby brother so well, I was worried that she might feel left out or excluded. I did not think she understood the situation properly, but once again i completely underestimated my daughter and she astounded me with her intelligence and compassion. I really need to stop doing that. She only got to see Knox for the first time through the window of the NICU on day 5 (kids are not allowed in the NICU) – she was smitten. She cried every day that I came home without him and got excited every morning that I left for the hospital because maybe… just maybe. The night before we thought he might come home we started preparing everything at home, Mikayla was adamant on washing his bottles – the perks of Montessori!

I'm Still Here...

She kisses him every opportunity she gets, she sings him lullaby’s and tells him stories – you cannot comprehend the cuteness! When she holds him she has the proudest look on her face… I feel sorry for the girlfriends in Knox’s future (not as sorry as I feel for the men in Mikayla’s).

I'm Still Here...

So far everything is going fine, I am a little bit more sore this time around than with Mikayla – I had a c-section for both. I guess it has to do with going over scar tissue again or something, I’m not sure.

I will probably still be a bit quiet for the next week or two, but I am working on a couple of competitions as well as some rad articles and reviews, so watch this space xxx

So much love for you all!

I'm Still Here...

3 thoughts on “I’m Still Here…

  1. Pingback: My Boobs Are My Business… | Caffeine and Fairydust

Don't be shy! Leave a comment...

