D.I.Y – Attempt At A Castle Birthday Cake

I have always been better at cooking than baking… besides my Home Economics class in High School I have never had any formal training – so please don’t laugh. On second thought… go ahead, I laughed too.

I usually just order Mikayla’s birthday cakes from a local baker, but about a week ago we decided to go on a last minute road trip and visit my parents on the farm in Kanoneiland near Upington. My mom was beside herself with excitement and decided that she wanted to throw Mikayla a birthday party as well as she can never attend any of them in Cape Town. She also wanted to bake a cake that looked like this:

D.I.Y - Attempt At A Castle Birthday Cake

I know we are a creative family, but geez mom… aiming a little high. We did not want to crush her dreams so my sisters and I set out to make this ridiculous castle cake. We used our favourite Hot Milk Vanilla Sponge Cake recipe as it never flops and tastes divine and then we put our heads together and set out to make Marshmallow Fondant for the first time ever. It really was not that hard to make, just extremely messy and quite difficult to handle when you are not used to it.

We obviously had to change the design a little bit. Here’s our version, looks just like the picture (if not better) if you ask me!

D.I.Y - Attempt At A Castle Birthday Cake

It’s not that bad, is it? I actually think it is quite pretty. If you would like to try it yourself or try better it – here’s how we did it.

• We baked three different sized square Hot Milk Vanilla Sponge Cakes – two layers of each and stacked them on top of each other. Between each individual cake we spread a layer of Vanilla buttercream icing to stick it together.

• We then spread a thin layer of buttercream icing over all the the cake layers in order to stick the Marshmallow Fondant to the cake.

• We took our Marshmallow Fondant and rolled it out with a rolling pin until it was a sheet big enough to cover the entire cake. We placed it over the cake and smoothed it out.

D.I.Y - Attempt At A Castle Birthday Cake

D.I.Y - Attempt At A Castle Birthday Cake• We then mixed up a batch of pink buttercream icing and started on the decor by creating different effects and patterns…

D.I.Y - Attempt At A Castle Birthday Cake

D.I.Y - Attempt At A Castle Birthday Cake• For the towers we used different ice cream cones and stuck them together using buttercream icing sugar and water. we decorated it and stuck it to the base with melted marshmallows.

D.I.Y - Attempt At A Castle Birthday Cake

D.I.Y - Attempt At A Castle Birthday Cake• The aftermath…

D.I.Y - Attempt At A Castle Birthday Cake

• I suppose all that matters is that she loved it!

D.I.Y - Attempt At A Castle Birthday Cake

2 thoughts on “D.I.Y – Attempt At A Castle Birthday Cake

  1. Pingback: Mikayla’s “Magical Rainbow” Party {+Free Printables} ++ Please Note: This Post Is Picture Heavy++ | Caffeine and Fairydust

Don't be shy! Leave a comment...

