Today I Took My Daughter On A Cinderella Date… And We Learned Some Valuable Lessons!

Life is finally starting to get back to normal… I have started working again, got my confidence back and the kids are settling in nicely. Having a baby changes everything – wether it is your first or second… it does not matter – it…changes…everything (mostly for the good).

Before Knox was born, I used to take Mikayla on regular ‘dates’, this was our time – just us girls. During this time I would not pick up my phone unless it was to capture that perfect Instagram moment, because let’s face it – my child is freakin’ gorgeous. Anyway, even though I have made a point in including Mikayla when we do things with Knox and trying my best to give her equal amounts of attention we have not been able to go on one of our little dates since Knox’s birth almost 5 months ago – and that’s okay. There is so much adjusting, healing and changing happening and I knew it would be unfair to put too much pressure on myself to keep things the same.

We finally had a chance to start dating again today, we had such a blast! One day when Knox is old enough we will have our own dates too – I really think it is so important. We went to watch Cinderella at Ster Kinekor. I was worried at first as she is still very young and not a fan of ‘real-life’ movies, but it was what she chose to watch. It was a brilliant choice – we both really enjoyed it and it really exceeded my expectations. If you thought the 2015 reboot of Cinderella would be sassy and all-knowing you’d be wrong. And its very traditionalism is its greatest strength. Before you read any further, I will be referencing quotes from the movie – so if you consider that a spoiler – spoiler alert!

Today I Took My Daughter On A Cinderella Date... And We Learned Some Valuable Lessons! Ster Kinekor Cinderella 2015

The movie is well directed, the cast is perfect and the dresses… oh my the dresses!!! According to the designer, Sandy Powell, It took a little more than bibbidi-bobbidi-boo! As a Fashion Designer, I can imagine.

Today I Took My Daughter On A Cinderella Date... And We Learned Some Valuable Lessons! Cinderella's Dress

Also, Helena Bonham Carter plays the fairy godmother and Cate Blanchett is the evil stepmother – two of my favourite actresses! And the actress that plays Cinderella, Lily James, is just out of this world beautiful.

Today I Took My Daughter On A Cinderella Date... And We Learned Some Valuable Lessons! Helen Boham Carter Fairy Godmother Cinderella 2015Today I Took My Daughter On A Cinderella Date... And We Learned Some Valuable Lessons! Cate Blanchett Evil Stepmom

The best part was the valuable lessons we took away from it. So… here is what we learned today:

1. Have Courage And Be Kind

This is something I have always tried to teach my daughter, but you know –what does mom know anyway. In a moment when Ella was a young girl, her mother shares a few words of wisdom before she passes away. It was this advice, to be courageous and kind, that formed Ella into the caring adult she later became.

“I want to tell you a secret that will see you through all the trials that life can offer. Have courage and be kind.”

2. Being Kind Does Not Mean You Can’t Be Strong.

Cinderella is no damsel-in-distress – and certainly no shrinking violet. After a particularly cruel round of taunting and abuse from her stepsisters and stepmother, she mounts her horse and gallops into the woods, where the prince, played by Richard Madden from Game Of Thrones, is out hunting. She’s defiant when he chases her down, chastising him for scaring a stag.

3. Just Because It’s What’s Done, Doesn’t Mean It’s What Should Be Done.

Prince Charming: Whoa, whoa, whoa! Are you all right?
Ella: I’m all right but you’ve nearly frightened the life out of him.
Prince Charming: Who?
Ella: The stag
Prince Charming: But we were hunting, you see. It’s what’s done.
Ella: Just because it’s what’s done, doesn’t mean it’s what should be done.
Prince Charming: You’re right… I hope to see you again, miss.
Ella: And I you.

4. Where there is kindness, there is goodness. And where there is goodness, there is magic.

Ella’s mother reinforces how to bring good to her world. She remarks that kindness brings out goodness, which brings out magic. Ella later finds out how true these words would become.

5. You Are Good Enough, Just As You Are. Don’t Ever Change – Not For Any Man.

When the royal brigade finds Cinderella locked in her attic, she meets the prince – now King – in the drawing room and proposes to him, unashamed to say that she has “no parents, no dowery” and is just “an honest country girl who loves you.”

“Will you take me as I am?” she asks, and he responds by asking her the same question.

6. Always See The Potential And Beauty In The World Around You.

As the narrator tells us in the beginning of the movie “she sees the world not as it is, but as it could be”.

7. The Right Pair Of Shoes Can Change A Girl’s Life.

Today I Took My Daughter On A Cinderella Date... And We Learned Some Valuable Lessons! Glass slipper gif Cinderella 2015

So take your kids and go watch Cinderella. It does what a good fairy tale film is supposed to do – it entertains, and transports us to a magical world that sparkles as much as on screen as in children’s imaginations, and teaches us a few universal lessons about the values of goodliness and kindliness. These are idealized values, for sure, but oddly refreshing when—day in, day out—minds, young and old, are assaulted with so much worse.

4 thoughts on “Today I Took My Daughter On A Cinderella Date… And We Learned Some Valuable Lessons!

Don't be shy! Leave a comment...

